2020: My Year in Review

2020! Whew.

There are enough sides to this year that you could hear a billion people’s experiences and no two would sound alike. It’s been the most unpredictable year I’ve witnessed but regardless, brought a lot of sweets and sours, downs and ups but well, here I am, putting few of the positive sides in writing, as my year in review.

Q1: New year vibes, fresh into “tweny-tweny”, beginning of a new decade, hoping to see what the new year had in stock for us.

First quarter of this year had me far away in a remote village in Delta state, all thanks to NYSC, with me figuring out how to co-habit with random strangers and start living in my new reality of being a “community school teacher”. Oh well, “corper”. It never was tough as I’d imagined it would be and in no time, I found myself always looking forward to the happenings of the next day. It was all bliss until sister Rona started blowing us hard late March and well, I had to come back home. This marked the start of the most tiring phase of my life this year.

Q2: Omo see enjoyment. We’re collecting 33k without working o...

Days at home slowly crept into weeks, which would later morph into days , of a whole lot of idleness and boredom. Boredom even twitter or CODM couldn’t help me fight. I wanted to break free. There was nothing doing. I first attempted learning to code in April, so I created a Freecodecamp account but that was where it ended. I didn’t even go past the first task. It wasn’t for me, I concluded. The only significant thing I did during this period was deciding to go on lowcut and then training my waves lmao.

Q3: Oh well the start of the best things to happen this year July 2020. It’s been almost 4 months of me wasting away at home. Plans had been ruined. The professional courses I wanted to take during NYSC had become only wishes. Days were counting phew. I honestly was still clueless as to what to make of my life, but somehow, someone meaningful crept into my life. I started falling in love with this woman😫.

August 2020. Somehow, I found myself back in Delta state. We had gone back to make arrangements for WAEC students which only lasted few weeks. It was during this time I made a life-changing decision, career-wise. I decided to pick up coding again. This time around, I was more intentional about it. I output my first “Hello World” on the 23rd of August, 2020.

Q4: Wetin you dey always do for night? Yahoo boy

Learning to code actually became a tad strenuous, as I never went back to Delta with a PC, hence I had to take all my programming classes on a mobile phone. Phew. Several hours of sleepless nights, with me sitting at a table, taking notes and batting with typing codes on codepen!

Thankfully, things began to turn out fine. Rounded up my NYSC bye to 33k. tearsss, and came back home... well, to a broken PC, which would later make coding more stressful for me. A stress which I’m used to now, I guess.

December 2020: Ouuuhhh pleasant surprises

4 months into coding, and I was incredibly amazed at how much I’d covered in that little time... such that some people really still find it hard to actually believe I’ve only spent that little time in this ‘realm’ lol. I built enough confidence to start applying for junior roles. There was this urge to actually feel what it is like to work in an actual tech environment. Enough stories, I was lucky enough to get into this program I’d always had a mind for. It was tough, going through series of tests, reading on things I’d never seen before, and coming out top 0.5% of applicants whew! It was a dream come true for me. I really thought that was all until I got accepted into Microsoft skillsLab internship program too. All in the space of 1 week.

What a year yeah? Yeahhh I know. This is really a whole lot to read, but I’ll keep this here, and write a shorter story, listing only the major highlights.