My 2020 in Review

2020! Whew.

There are enough sides to this year that you could hear a billion people’s experiences and no two would sound alike. It’s been the most unpredictable year I’ve witnessed but regardless, it brought a lot of sweets and sours, downs and ups but well, here I am, putting few of the positive sides in writing, as my year in review.

Highlights

  • Started my NYSC proper, in a remote village in Delta state.

  • Attempted to learn programming in April but I gave up. Felt too much for me.

  • I found love.

  • Finally decided to learn programming, and I was intentional about it.

  • Output my first “Hello World” on the 23rd of August, and continued intense learning for the next three months, all on a mobile phone.

  • Rounded up NYSC in October and came back home in November, which was when I wrote a code on a computer for the first time

  • This love I found came closer, and became even more real

  • December. A whole lot. From me deciding to keep this newly found love forever, to me being confident about how much I’ve achieved in these 4 months of learning, enough to make me start considering applying for junior roles and internships, which would later go on to land me a slot in one of my most desired institute. This so far is my biggest feat this year, career-wise. Me, a beginner, with zero background in CS, writing series of virtual and physical tests and coming out top 0.5% of applicants, most of whom have been in the tech world months before me, or even some, years. Really seems like a big deal for a ‘newbie’ like me, especially when this institute would, in 2021, later go on to provide 6 months of intense paid training in software engineering, which promises a job offer at the end, amongst other perks. Again, it sounds like a lot. The last banger of 2020? Well it has to be me landing an internship slot in the Microsoft skillsLab programme. Huge yeah? I guess.

New Year Resolution??

Might sound cliché, but for the first time in my life, I’ll actually be having set goals for the year. The new year is seeming like one filled with opportunities and I’ll be spending most part of the year getting better at things I do, loving my woman better, making actual friends, and making money.

Cheers to everyone who has made 2020 amazing. Let’s do this again next year!!